Rapeseed conference to be June 12-16

Seven AOCS members are listed as formal participants in the program for the 5th International Rapeseed Conference to be held June 12-18, 1978, in Malmo, Sweden.

AOCS members serving as chairmen during the conference will be A. Rutkowski, Poland; G. Jacini, Italy; and B. Teasdale, Canada. AOCS members speaking during the meeting are: R.K. Downey, Canada; J. Beare-Rogers, Canada; H. Mangold, Germany; and R. Ohlson, Sweden. Dr. Ohlson also is serving as vice chairman of both the organizing and scientific committees for the meeting. Registration forms and additional information are available from Bengt Loof, ASU, S-269000 Svalov, Sweden.

The conference technical program consists of reports on research involving rapeseed oil, meal, and other products.

1978 Sunflower Conference in Minneapolis

The 8th International Sunflower Conference will be held July 23-27, 1978, in the Learnington Hotel, Minneapolis, MN

The program will cover the selection, production, and industrial technology utilization problems of sunflowerseed and its by-products. Further information is available from Dr. D.E. Zimmer, PO Box 15303 Commerce Station, Minneapolis, MN 55415, USA. Secretary for the International Sunflower Association, which sponsors the conference, is Jaap J.L. van Waalwijk van Doorn, PO Box 7, Zevenaar, The Netherlands. Reports and speeches at the meeting will be simultaneously translated into English, French, and Spanish. The previous conference was held in Krasnodar, USSR, in 1976. Current president of the international group is Dalton Gandy of Memphis, TN, who will be among the speakers at the AOCS 69th Annual Meeting in St. Louis, May 14-18, 1978.

Referee Certificates Applications for certification or

Applications for certification or recertification in the AOCS Referee Chemist program must be returned to AOCS Headquarters, 508 S. Sixth St., Champaign, IL 61820, by no later than March 20, 1978, or the applicant will be ineligible to be listed in the 1978-79 official list of Referee Chemists.

Recertification notices have been mailed to last year's participants. New applicants should write to AOCS Headquarters and request application forms. Recertification application fee is \$10; new applicant fee is \$30.

Referee Chemist deadline is March 20

Dr. Vennart to head department



Dr. George P. Vennart, an AOCS member since 1965, has been named chairman of the Pathology Department at the Medical College of Virginia School of Medicine, Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond. Dr. Vennart joined the faculty at Richmond in 1965 after having taught at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and at Columbia University.

